Magery idea

Started by Cadbury, December 27, 2009, 06:30:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Cadbury

I'm pretty new to this shard, but from what I can tell, the magery skill is pretty weak in comparison to everything else (chiv, bushido, druid skills etc), which is kind of unfortunate. It seems that the "pure mage" is nearly dead, and that was something I really loved about UO back in the day, and I'm sure that I'm not alone.

Here's something I was thinking that would make it a bit more valuable and fun to play with:

What if we could make it so that casting from a scroll was an "insta-cast"? No need for the fancy dance associated with casting a spell. This would benefit mages as they would be more capable of handling large mobs without worrying about being over run and  having all their spells interrupted. It would make for a more run and gun kind of magery, which I think would be pretty exciting. Plus, an added bonus would be that scribing would become a more valuable and desirable skill, which would help stimulate the economy on the shard.

Now, to avoid druids from become more powerful, we could make this insta-cast ability negated by any of the druid skills, making it designed specifically for mages. It might breathe some life into a new class here. Based on various conversation with shard members, it seems that the mage has been relegated to a support role, and that there are currently 2 dominate classes (chiv/bushido tank and the druid tank), so this may be a welcome addition for those less interested in those other classes.